Totally Biased Fan Review: Songs 1-8 (52 in 2020) EEP – Dom Italiano

DomItalianoSongs1-8

 

The Hurt Party was one of my favourite albums from last year. It was also one of my biggest surprises. I love the way Dom uses words. I am a Bob Dylan, Kris Kristofferson, James Taylor, Michael Waugh, Khristian Mizzi fan. I think that says it all about what I think is most important in a song. He has a way with a phrase, a way with a subject and a way with his audience.

I was at a gig in Tamworth, where Dom said, give me what you can afford for the album. Some gave $5, some gave 20.

I think that says a lot about his music and what is most important to him. I have been a music fan since I was born. My folks always had music playing and my sister is an amazing piano player. My gift is my love for that music and writing about it. People like Dom are the reason that I write about it, he is so passionate about the music….as Allan Caswell said on his Mexico album, in Victoria, it is about the music.

I love the way that Dom turns a phrase, turns a page, considers the words and complements them with the music.

He has the soft and tender voice that makes me think that he is pretty much an old soul and should have been at Woodstock in 69 rather than in Melbourne in 2020, though in some ways, they are similar.

Basically, Dom’s music is here to mellow out to, but do not leave it at that. Each song has its layers.  I get carried away on a cloud sometimes with Dom’s music, and at other times, Dylan reminds me that he is trying to tell me something.

It’s not just a ring is by far and away my fave track. It is just so me, it is crazy. Love it to bits.

Catherine is probably my second fave. I always love Dom’s songs. I haven’t heard a song yet that I didn’t like.

Fix a woman has an E rating, but it is an important song. It is something that you should listen to and learn from.

All of Dom’s songs mean something. They are not bubblegum country or frivolous. They have substance. His voice has a pretty extensive range.

It is not always what he says, it is how he says it.

More please.

Tracks:

Catherine

Fix A Woman

That Was Our Song

I Don’t Know Why I Do this Anymore

We Know Love

How Long  Have I You Waited For Me

Wicked  Things

It’s Not Just  A Ring

 

 

Leave a comment

Brown Paper Packages

Favourite Things

Country As

All things country

Cowgirlup

All kinds of Country Music