Totally Biased Fan Review: Deeper Well – Kacey Musgraves

Tracklist: 
1. Cardinal 
2. Deeper Well 
3. Too Good to be True 
4. Moving Out 
5. Giver / Taker 
6. Sway 
7. Dinner with Friends 
8. Heart of the Woods 
9. Jade Green 
10. The Architect 
11. Lonely Millionaire 
12. Heaven Is 
13. Anime Eyes 
14. Nothing to be Scared Of

After the last couple of albums, I nearly gave up on Kacey. The first few albums were sensational. Fun, clever, quirky, sometimes sweet, tender when she wanted to be.

Then, I lost interest. With the release of this album, I was going to give it a hard pass. I read 10 reviews and none of them were complimentary. Even one critic whom I normally agree with was totally against it.

Then I read a regular reviewer who wrote some compliments amongst the driftwood.

So I listened. Yes, it is different to those first ones, but thankfully t is a good different and nothing like the ones that I didn’t like.

It is softer, more mellow. It is not funny or quirky. It is a different place in her life and the mood fits the place. Heaven is is a beautiful song – it will be hard to beat come awards time.

This album has a whimsical quality to it. It is romantic, bitter sweet, zen like.

Her voice is at its best, gentle and moving. There are some lyrics that are still Kaceyesque, that is, that they tend to push the envelope a bit, but they are a bit more subtly placed than in previous recordings.

I don’t understand the wrath that she has copped, there have been some really hard hitting reviews. Some of them, like me, had it been keen on her last couple but this is so different to them.

I really like it. It is more like Woodstock than Nashville but it is more in the zone than the last two.

Enjoy

Leave a comment

THE PRESS | Music Reviews

Click Header to Return Home

Brown Paper Packages

Favourite Things

Country As

All things country

Cowgirlup

All kinds of Country Music