The Single Life: 26th March, 2024

Sorry, a few to catch up on!

Lindsay Waddington – When I think of Home.

He always thinks that he is out of his comfort zone singing rather than playing or producing. I think that his work with Allan Caswell in Lynchburg has given him some confidence to step forward. This is a sweet, down home song and proves that Waddo is more than capable of singing his own songs.

Sara Storer – Under Darwin Stars

This is a change of style and tempo for Sara. Subject matter is still there but the mood and feel of the song is very different. I like it….a lot.

Brewn – Hands Up – this rock anthem harks back to their older style. I like it, it is catchy but I do prefer their slower style. It’s a bit like Charlie Daniels on steroids and without the fiddle.

Tori Forsyth – All we are

I am getting excited for the new album, given the singles that have been released so far. This is a beauty. This is the real Tori Forsyth folks, not all of the ones out there who are trying to copy her. Great stuff.

Route 33 – One Thing Right

The boys just get better. Like all good artists, they are learning as they evolve. They are making every song different and whether it is a slower song or a rockier one, there’s a substance to the songs. Good stuff.

The Bushwackers – Friend for life

Anybody who has had a dog will get this song. My dog buried my new custom made school shoes in a ploughed paddock on our farm. Dad found them but they were never the same. We all have those stories! In the end, our dogs are part of our family. Roger always manages to hit a nerve with his songs. Woof.

Sinead Burgess – Always gonna break my heart – there are a few Aussie country music girls who don’t get the credit that they deserve. Sinead is one of them. This is fantastic. Hopefully, people will sit up and listen.

Casey Barnes – Mayday

Can’t do the Texas two step to this one but you can stomp and get the air guitar out and riff it up.

Katie Jayne – Do it like a man

Katie is the reason for me starting The Single Life. This is the artist at her best. A song for the times and it is, I believe, the song that will be her big breakthrough song. She has a cult following, which I am a part of, but this will show the broader audiences what she is about. Gold.

Warren Kearney – The Hill

What a variety of songs we have this week! I think that we are covering a few of the 94 types of country music! Warren is more traditional- he is a storyteller. A thoughtful and timeless narrative.

My brother from another mother, Col Finley, has released She’s Country. He knows how to mix the gentle banjo with the thumping guitars. This song is part of an album coming soon which is a mixture or reboots and lost songs, from what I can gather. Intrigued? You should be!

Leave a comment

THE PRESS | Music Reviews

Click Header to Return Home

Brown Paper Packages

Favourite Things

Country As

All things country

Cowgirlup

All kinds of Country Music